Flawless Framing

My parents, being good, loving parents, keep embarrassing pictures of my brother and me on prominent display in their house.  Whenever I visit them, I am faced with my 17-year-old face framed in soft-focus ruffles from my white pirate shirt.  It is not the pained smile or my big hair that hits me the hardest, it’s my ungroomed, wild brows.

I didn’t pluck my brows all through high school or college.  I found it unbearably painful, and I couldn’t seem to care enough to pluck regularly.  So I just let them go wild instead.

In my 20’s, I began to pluck my unibrow away, and in my 30’s I started to ramp it up even more, but I never did much more than shape the brow lightly and pluck the strays.  This has actually paid off, as I don’t have the sparse, overworked brows so many women my age have.  However, I realized that the end of my left brow was much thinner than the right, and that I have some white hairs now.  I decided to use a brow shaping gel.  I started with Benefit’s Gimme Brow!, but I was never satisfied with the color.  It was a little dark and a little grey.

Then on an epic Sephora trip, I found Chosungah 22’s Dong Gong Minn Brow Maker.  Aside from the fact that I’m already hooked on Korean products, this one turned out to be the perfect shade, with the perfect applicator.  Dong Gong Minn Brow Maker comes in four shades to Gimme Brow!’s two, and one of those shades (Light Blonde) is perfect for lighter eyebrows.

20160223_223314

Most brow products have a spoolie brush, like mascara, to brush on the product.  This has a spoolie combined with a triangular sponge tip.  I brush the product through my eyebrows, then use the tip to fill out my sparse ends.  It sticks to the tiniest hairs and stays all day.  Once it dries, it doesn’t come off, and it’s never stiff or clumpy.  If it does clump a little on initial application, the spoolie can brush it right out. The product is still there when I take off my makeup at night, which is pretty amazing.

sweat-proof-makeup-brow-tint_700x400

Chosungah 22 Dong Gong Minn Brow Maker sells for $22 at Sephora.

 

 

Leave a Reply

