Matte, Not Dry

Sephora is my black hole.  Whenever I go, I circle the store multiple times, trying to take it all in.  I rarely go with an agenda; I just go for whatever catches my eye…which can be a bit of a budget killer.  And then if I add Rebecca (The Lipstick Gal) into the mix–we might as well set up camp and stay the night.

I went on a lipstick bender not too long ago, looking for dark and bright options for winter–nothing lackluster.  I wanted to look at formulations I wouldn’t ordinarily buy, either, like glosses and mattes.  Glosses are too sticky, mattes are too drying.  But I’m always open to have my biases busted.

s1740083-main-hero-300

Enter my big Sephora find: Buxom’s Big & Sexy Bold Gel lipstick.  This lipstick goes on light and smooth, and even though it’s matte, the gel formula doesn’t dry out my lips.  Plus, it lasts forever.  Pixlr_20160201222728245It’s the end of the day–a filter is a necessity.

I bought Toxic Cherry, a bright, true bombshell red.  I’ve worn it probably more than any of the 8 lipsticks I bought in my lipstick frenzy.  The case is matte black, heavy, and the tip of the lipstick is flat, but cut on a slant.  It’s the perfect size and shape.  It smells a bit like vanilla or caramel–definitely a sweet smell, but not overwhelming.  And it’s such a little detail, but I absolutely love the fact that the case is magnetized–the top snaps back into place, so the Buxom logo is always perfectly lined up.

Buxom Big & Sexy Bold Gel lipstick is available in 30 shades.  It costs $22 at Sephora.

2 thoughts on “Matte, Not Dry

  1. So in love with this color! It looks amazing on you. I love that we swap lipstick favorites. I’ll check this out the next time I’m in Sephora.

Leave a Reply

