Strange Magic

Luxe + Cheap.

Not a natural pairing. In fact, it’s pretty rare to find that combo–especially in makeup. I’ve avoided drugstore makeup for years because I feel that the price is higher than the quality–in other words, I’d rather pay more for excellent products than pay a moderate price for cheap quality products.

20160126_210132 (1)

 

My friend and soulmate since we were 18, Rebecca from The Lipstick Gal, shares my love for great makeup.  When she texted me that I needed to check out Colourpop Cosmetics while they were having a sale, I didn’t hesitate.  I just took her word that this cheap (super cheap, comparatively, especially during their sale) cosmetic line would meet standards.  She knows her stuff.  (Check out her Colourpop vlog, if you don’t believe me.  Also, she’s so gorgeous, inside and out.  Love her.)

20160126_205719

Colourpop exceeded my expectations.  Especially the Super Shock Shadows. Five dollars a pop (at full price), they are bright, pigmented, and long-lasting.  They can be applied with fingers or a brush.  There’s a bigger color payoff if you use your fingers; I’ve been using a brush for everyday wear.  The texture is between a cream and a powder, if that makes sense.  (Pro tip: close the lid TIGHTLY, so it doesn’t lose it’s “magic” texture.)  They blend so easily and beautifully–the shades meld into each other as if a professional was in charge of the brush.  Plus the shades are fun.

I’ve already collected 11 different shades of the Super Shock Shadow.  Currently I’m obsessed with Lace (below left) and Porter (below right).  Lace is described as a “deep rich blue violet with a pearlized finish” and Porter is described as “warm burgundy with multi-dimensional gold glitter in a metallic finish.”  I contrasted the finger application (left) and the brush application (right) for each shade.  Porter is pretty accurate in the picture, but Lace is a little washed out–it’s richer in real life.

20160126_211546 (1)

Rebecca always keeps me up on the trends, thank goodness. Anyone else find a product that mixes luxe payoff with a bargain price?

2 thoughts on “Strange Magic

  1. Love this post. I feel like I should have let you know about these amazing products much sooner. I’ve been in love with them for nearly a year. Sorry it took me so long to recommend them. Glad you love them to. I’ll be making another order soon. I’m addicted!

Leave a Reply

