With a Sting

I did a post a few months ago about Korean skincare, where I did a vlog demonstrating my Korean skincare routine.  I look at that vlog now, and I cringe.  The difference between my skin now and my skin then is notable.  I had only had a Korean skincare routine for a couple of weeks at that point; now I’ve been using it regularly for a few months.  I think that video was the last time I got a blemish between my eyes, which used to be so regular I joked about having a third eye.  The cystic acne under my chin is almost gone.  When I use a pore strip on my nose, nothing comes up.  My skin is soft and moisturized during the cold and drying winter months.

One of the things I’m a big fan of with Korean skincare is all the natural ingredients in the products–ones you might not imagine.  I have masks that use every fruit and vegetable, caviar, gold, snail slime, you name it.  (Snail slime I’ll have to go into another day, but trust me–the slime is awesome once you get past the mental block.)  To treat my acne, I’ve been using a product with a very interesting natural ingredient–bee venom.

Apparently, bee venom is a more powerful anti-inflammatory than hydrocortisone.  It tears down cell membranes, causing the body to increase circulation in the area and also increase collagen production, meaning quicker healing time and an end to red, inflamed pimples.

I’ve been using Shara Shara Bee Tox Spot Cream. I got it from Memebox–they do themed boxes of Korean beauty products–not for the faint of heart, because you can’t choose what’s inside. (More on Memebox another day–I’m waiting for a box to do a vlog on.) However, this product is worth the cost of the whole box. It smells herbal–it contains tea tree oil–but not medicinal. I don’t have any side effects from using it, even though I have sensitive skin. I put this directly on my spots two times a day–morning and evening.

bee tox

You can buy Shara Shara Bee Tox here. If you’re into K-Pop, the face of Shara Shara is actually a young, fresh-faced man, not a woman as with so many cosmetic brands. I find it kind of hilarious to have L (that’s his stage name) from the group Infinite smiling back from the Shara Shara packaging. Hilarious.

Never separate a KPop idol from his guyliner.
Never separate a KPop idol from his guyliner.
Leave a Reply

