The Holy Grail that is Jeans

I can’t count how many times I’ve pulled my jeans up today.

Since I had the day off, I finally got around to some of the dirty work cleaning around my place.  I wore my “day off” jeans (a step up from yesterday’s “Sunday yoga pants”), which, at their purchase, fit just right.  To the point that I got stopped in a swank hotel once by a woman who wanted to know where I got them, such was their perfection.  But now, even after a good washing, they don’t fit like they used to.

Jeans are the most frustrating, because when they look good, holy mother, they look GOOD.  But it’s alchemy finding the right ones.  Right length, slim around the thighs but not too tight, with a supportive backside that doesn’t droop, with a rise that fits on the waist without cutting off circulation, and a leg that’s slim, but not super skinny.  And it needs to be affordable, to boot.  It’s impossible.

And now I have THE JEANS in mind.  Every now and again I’ll see something, or I’ll get some trigger, where I decide that my life will be incomplete until I own this one piece that I can just picture being the next big thing.  But the retailers haven’t quite caught up to my madness.  And right now, I want jeans with a slim leg and a wide cuff.  Like, super-wide.  Half my calf wide.  I’m having a hard time finding it, though.

Cuffed Jeans

This is the best I can find, but they are 1) mostly too expensive and 2) still not wide enough in the cuff to suit my preferences. I have a mental deadline of March to meet, since I’ll be going to Spain then, and would rather not be pulling my jeans up all trip.

Leave a Reply

