Turning Towards Autumn

For the teacher, when school starts, summer is officially over. The calendar may still acknowledge additional days of summer, and the weather may still be balmy (I’m fanning myself on a humid evening as I write this), but it’s fall. That’s all there is to it.

When I shop for work clothes, I don’t shop for summer clothes. I have a much larger wardrobe for winter than for summer. The best pieces I have are transitional, and I find myself looking for pieces that will go from summer to fall with a few tweaks.

Skater/Fit and Flare dresses

Last year I bought a skater dress in grass green, and now I have one in teal as well. I’m kind of obsessed with this as a transition piece, since you can wear it on its own or with a small shrug in summertime, or with a sweater or blazer in fall. A bright solid is perfect for late summer and fall, as it doesn’t seem too frivolous or summer-y. You can wear this dress with sandals in summer, knee-high boots as the weather gets colder, or flats in a bright (not necessarily matching) color anytime.

When it comes to skater dresses (or fit and flare dresses, or a-line dresses–whatever you want to call them), you really can’t beat ModCloth for selection. I love that site so much.

Leave a Reply

