Be-ringed

I awkwardly Googled today. You know how sometimes you type something dumb into Google because you can’t think of the smart way to say it? Well, up until I decided to write this post, I never stopped to think about what you would call those rings that go above your knuckles. Not knuckle rings, because those are different dastardly jewelry pieces. Forefinger rings? That makes no sense. Top rings? I couldn’t figure it out. So I awkwardly Googled “those rings that go above your knuckle” and cringingly hit enter.

Turns out they’re called midi rings. I’ve been intrigued by them ever since I saw Gong Hyo Jin in The Master’s Sun drama wearing large bands around every finger; some below the knuckle and some above. I really like the look, but I don’t know if they would be comfortable or not. I own one ring that comes up above the knuckle, but it’s a sectioned armor ring that starts at the base of my finger and comes up to the nail. It bends with my finger, but it’s not very comfortable. I think they’d have to fit well, too, because I wouldn’t want my rings flying off during the day.

Midi Rings

I created a set for this, with some stand-alone midi rings and some sets. I personally wouldn’t spend a lot of money on a midi ring, because I do think that they won’t be around forever, fashion-wise, but it would be fun to have a set incorporating midi rings. The question mark is so alluring to me. I know most people would think of the Joker or some such person, but I think of George Emerson in A Room With A View, and Lucy Honeychurch’s coming across the giant question mark that he drew on the back of the painting in his room. One of my favorite literary couples. Who probably would never wear a midi ring, despite their progressiveness in the Edwardian age. (Also, who remembers Helena Bonham Carter before she was “quirky”? Nobody does it better, but please, she’s a gorgeous English rose here!)

One thought on “Be-ringed

  1. I wish I could find a pic of me wearing a “midi” ring in HS. It wasn’t because I was fashion forward though– it was because I “permanently borrowed” this gorgeous woven ring that was my mom’s, only she has like size 2 fingers, and it would only fit past the first knuckle on my banana hands. ::sigh:: I loved that ring.

Leave a Reply

