Midsummer Night Swing

One thing the heartland lacks is truly inspiring street style. Not to say that there aren’t some fashionistas out here in the suburbs, but we tend to lack groups of people all in one place, dressed to impress. I just got back from a mini-vacation to New York City–my first time in the Big Apple–and was inspired by street style all around me. The first night I was there, my friend Marta pointed out a great outfit for a hot summer evening at a latin dance festival right before the fourth of July. Yes, this girl had it all–red, white, blue, stripes, pleats, and two-tone shoes. I grabbed a ninjapic from behind:

And the shoes:

In the sweltering heat she looked cool and ready to dance. In my way, I have reappropriated this look for the budget shopper. Since I couldn’t find the exact shoes she was wearing, I’m offering up several versions of a complementary shoe.

Midsummer Night Swing

More street style coming soon. I will tackle the question “to romper, or not to romper” in upcoming days.

2 thoughts on “Midsummer Night Swing

Leave a Reply

