Let the Sunshine In

I have a slight obsession with checking Zillow. I know I’m a year or two away from being in a position to buy real estate, but I want to see what’s out there right now. Unfortunately, my budget is limiting (do you think I write a budget style blog because I’m rich?), and I find that my options are a little older. Since I love a quirky vintage style, I am okay with that, as long the property is in good shape and a decent neighborhood. Everything else can be redone, redecorated, or refurbished.

One thing I’m noticing in the listings is something that I’m not accustomed to: a sunroom. They aren’t common in the Pacific Northwest (too little sun) or the Southwest (too much sun). But here it seems to be a popular option. So I’ve been thinking about sun room options. I would want a place where I could sit and read, relax with friends, have a cup of coffee. I would want a place that is bright and sunshiney, even when it’s not outside. I am attracted to the idea of a yellow and purple room, almost pansy-inspired. Texture and pattern will abound, and it will tend toward floral. So of course, I went to Polyvore to whip up an inspiration board.

Let the Sunshine In--Sunroom

KIVIK Chaise – Blekinge white – IKEA, $349
IKEA Klippan, $319
IKEA Isala, $179
Vintage Floor Lamp, $119
North Wales Floral Decor Pillow, $37
IKEA Vårlikt, $15
Felt Flower Decorative Pillow – contemporary – pillows –, $15
ROXÖ Stool – yellow/pink – IKEA, $13
IKEA Blygsam, $9.99
IKEA Solstråle, $7.99
Arteriors Home Plum Flannel 17″ Square Accent Pillow | LampsPlus.com, $205
Purple Fontella 16″ Square Hand Sewn Felt Rose Pillow | LampsPlus.com, $56
Boston Intellectual Art Print | Print Shop, $15

Does anybody have experience with owning a house with a sunroom? Do you have any problem with dampness in the room or things molding? That’s my big concern. Interested to know what your sunroom is like!

Leave a Reply

