NYC Liquid Lip Shine

The Universe is trying to change my opinion about lip gloss.

In general, I am anti-lip gloss. I haven’t used lip gloss since high school, and my forays were short-lived. Lip gloss, in my experience, is sticky, wears off in the center, goops up, and smells bad. Besides, I’m a lipstick girl. If you’ve ever seen the TV movie or read the book Why I Wore Lipstick to My Mastectomy, the protagonist talks about lipstick being for bold women. I’ve always been that woman. From my senior year in high school I was wearing dark wine and raising shades, progressing to blood red.

I definitely didn’t think that I would like NYC Liquid Lip Shine when it came with my VoxBox from Influenster. They sent me a full-size sample to try out, so I had to give it a go.

First of all, the color is just about the opposite of anything I’d pick. It’s called Nude York City. It is, as advertised, nude. However, it has a nice peach cast to it that make it warm.

It does not fit any of my preconceived notions of lip gloss, either. The texture is fantastic; it didn’t gunk up at all. It lasted fr a decent amount of time, and it’s beautifully shiny and lush. Plus, it’s a great drugstore product; the quality is better than some of the higher-end products I’ve gotten samples of.

The only thing I don’t understand is that they say it has a “3-D Effect”. Aren’t lips 3-D to start with? I’ve never put anything on my lips and complained about the “disappointing 2-D effect”. Lips aren’t flat. But that’s just me being nitpicky.

I love the gloss put over a warm peachy lipstick shade for extra depth and gloss. NYC Liquid Lip Shine has joined my list of beauty products to try again.

One thought on “NYC Liquid Lip Shine

Leave a Reply

