Heroine Chic Part IV

The last installment of this series! I’ve had so much fun trying to envision my favorite literary heroines and what might be in their closets today. For this post, I have my showstopper two–my absolute favorite, Jane Eyre, and the woman who was the hardest for me to dress, Scarlett O’Hara.

Jane Eyre

Heroine Chic--Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre is probably my favorite book character of all time. She goes through a lot of growth in the course of the book, but always has a core strength. In the end, she saves a broken Rochester. Jane is described as a plain woman, and she works as a governess, so her outfit is not terribly flashy. A touch of tweed in a skirt with a bold pleat. The pieces all have a subtle Gothic Victorian ruffle. But the boots are all out romantic. And I seem to be obsessed with coral these days in my own wardrobe, so I’ve given a coral top to Jane, too.

Scarlett O’Hara

Heroine Chic--Scarlett O'Hara

This was tricky, because how do you dress an iconic fashionista? I wanted to riff on the gorgeous green velvet drapery dress, but the color is just NOT OUT THERE. I couldn’t find something that goes with my personal credo of fashion on a budget. Slinky evening gowns didn’t seem right, corseted garments looked cheap, embellished dresses were too frou-frou. Thank goodness H & M helped me out! This ruffled dress was the Scarlett dress for me–waist-enhancing, modern, stylish with the one shoulder, over-the-top with the layered skirt. Scarlett always matched, so rose gold bracelets, feathered shoes (fancy!) and an envelope clutch with a bit of shine. Fiddle-dee-dee!

Got any classic heroines you’d like to dress? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

