Wednesday Wants: Summer Reading

I read all year round, but there’s something about summer that says “it’s okay to pick up that ‘fun’ book. You don’t have to improve your mind, just entertain yourself.” Suddenly, it’s okay to be seen in public with a book that has a pink cover. And escapist fiction can just be SO GOOD. My reading list has some excellent summer fiction on it.

Definitely Dead by Charlaine Harris

I’m working my way through the Southern Vampire Mysteries. Basically I’m just trying to stay ahead of the plot of True Blood. They keep pulling things from later on in the series, though, so I figure I just need to get on with it. I’m working on Dead as a Doornail this summer, too.

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

First impressions: Miss USA meets Lord of the Flies. Only funny. It seems just like the kind of thing I would want to read out in the sunshine by the pool.

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

More paranormal romance! All my friends have been reading this, and I think they’re going to pester me to death if I don’t start. Apparently it’s very captivating.

Watership Down by Richard Adams

I like to read at least one classic per summer just for enjoyment. I don’t want to read anything really dark or heavy right now, so maybe Watership Down, because it’s about BUNNIES!

Any summer reading to recommend?

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Wants: Summer Reading

  1. YES!!!!!! All great summer reads. (Except that Fever mess, of which I’ll say no more, as to not offend our fellow friends. I’m nice.) Beauty Queens was immensely enjoyable & so much better than I thought it would be…Libba Bray is a gifted writer.

    I need to reread Watership Down. Yes, bunnies, but also a story that gets pretty deep. That is not what she said.

  2. Watership Down is such a great book. I recently re-read Bridget Jones (for about the 5th time, and I almost never reread things) on the beach over Spring Break. WAY recommend.

    1. I’ve read them and I had to push through. I wasn’t as gripped by them and more annoyed by the fact thr the author seeme to be a wordy hooker that liked repeating herself. I but read and can critique that I wasn’t a fan.

  3. omg…dood…long time no read-y your bloggy. #ifail

    i’m glad i popped by today though as i have tons on my “to-read” list this summer. like you, i tend to reach for the lighter fare during these months. perhaps it’s the weather but most likely it’s due to the fact that my brain is fried from school and i don’t want to spend my summer months off dissecting the works of Dostoevsky, yanno? Although, it’s not like i am reading his books any other time of the year…but i digress.

    this summer, i too am reading the Fever series and while it’s not my fave in terms of writing style, the story did draw me in as a ugh, i-have-to-finish-this-so-i-know-what-the-heck-is-going-on-type-thing. it’s annoyingly frustrating that i got sucked in.

    after that is over, i have The Reading Promise on deck and My Name is Memory in the hole. And then probs some more YA, cause i can help it. i love it.

Leave a Reply

