Here Comes the Sun

I woke up this morning, wayyyyyy too early for a Sunday at 7:00 a.m., and checked my iPhone for all the doings overnight, as I always do. I know, I’m a social media addict. I’m cool with it. Anyway, there was an email from ULTA announcing the arrival of the silver shatter polish from OPI from the Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides collection. Immediately, ULTA got put on my day’s to-do list.

I headed over there and they were already SOLD OUT. Boooo. So I picked up this instead:

That’s right…110 spf sunblock. I just read something about skin cancer yesterday, and the article I read said that those who live at high elevations (hello, we’re mile high here!) have a higher incidence of melanoma. I realized that on Wednesday I got a burn on a cloudy, freezing day. And now the sun is back with a vengeance. I sprayed it on immediately after leaving the store.

However, I also picked up this:

When it’s sunblock time, it’s self-tanner time! I’ve never used this particular product before, as I’ve done the gradual self-tanning lotion thing the last couple of years. I’ve used the Jergens brand, which was pretty good:

My favorite ever was one from Bath & Body Works, which smelled just like their honeysuckle scent.

Unfortunately, they didn’t keep that one around. They seem to change their self-tanner product line every single year. I would buy that one again, if they still had it.

But I’ve decided to go harder core this time. The gradual self-tanner works, but it takes so long. It is SO gradual that if I forget to apply it three or four days in a row, nothing ever really develops. And currently I look like I’ve spent the winter under a rock, so I need it.

I don’t want to look like this:

…so I got the medium tan one, instead of the dark tan. I’m a pale girl; I have no need for dark, dark tan.

I’m scared, though. I don’t want to look like this, either:

Now I’m worried about streaking, being orange, long dry times and dark ankles and knees. I hate this part of summer.

Anyone have any tips or hints for me before I start? Or words of comfort?

2 thoughts on “Here Comes the Sun

  1. I’ve had the best luck with the self-tanner mist sprays rather then the lotions and gels. No matter how much something says streak-free, I manage to get all streaky. In fact, my fave has been the ULTA spray tanning mist stuff. It sprays out just like the sunscreen you just bought. It doesn’t smell as good as I’d like it to, but it is effective. The ONLY other thing is, just like the spray tanning booths, you gotta really watch your toes. They can get nasty brown from the mist and gravity. The trick is just to put lotion on the toes to create a barrier.

    Wow. I had no idea I had so much advice on self-tanning. I hope it helps you!

  2. Exfoliate. Hello I run a tanning salon so I advise this crap all the time. Exfoliate, exfoliate,exfoliate. And like Amber said, when spraying make sure to get some lotion and goop it on your feet between the toes and also on your hands. Light layer of lotion (don’t rub it in) on the back of your hands and tops of your feet, ankles, inside of your wrists, elbows and knees. Then spray. After you are done spraying just wipe the lotion off and I do a little blending action. Be sure to either wash or sani hand your hands so the solution sticks. And last, hydrate! The more hydrated you are the better color you’ll have.

    If you want to do a booth, look for the Versa brand. They use walnut and beet extract vs carrot juice to produce the solution but it does have DHA, not harmful but some have allergies.

Leave a Reply

