Comfort Heels

So, this post is specifically for blog supporter and Twitter friend Minderelly.  She also writes I Want Your Blog.  Go over there and wish her congratulations on her new job!  She just got hired at a swankified restaurant in Nashville.  And they told her that their employees wear heels at work.

Heels can be excruciating if they’re not the right ones.  I spend a lot of my day up and walking around, and I’m a wuss so I wear flats.  But if you do wear heels to work, they need to be built for comfort.  I picked out some cute comfort heels for ideas, and have some tips about buying heels for work.

1.  Comfort shoes are an investment.  If you’re going to keep your body from going out of whack, you need shoes with an infrastructure.  Think of it as saving you chiropractic bills later.

2.  Try before you buy.  Walk around.  Make sure nothing rubs or sticks out.  Lift your toes and stand on the heel.  Make sure it doesn’t seem at all unstable. Ensure that it doesn’t pinch your toes or heel or arch.   Make sure your feet aren’t slipping around in the shoe, or that the shoe doesn’t slip off the back of your foot when you walk.  If there is ANYTHING unsatisfactory about it, move on.

 

Pumps

Pumps by Freya_dk featuring high heels

3. Straps add security. I like a maryjane or ankle strap pump, because they stick with you. I think the less your shoe and your foot move independently from one another, the more comfortable they are.

4. Invest in SPACE AGE TECHNOLOGY. Cole Haan uses Nike Air technology, which utilizes a heavy gas encapsulated in the shoe for cushioning. It re-inflates itself, so it will never go flat. Rockport uses Reebok’s athletic technology. Naturalizer uses N5 comfort–breathability, cushioning, ergonomic heel and toe shapes. Sofft uses ExoSol technology, a material that absorbs the impact from the ground up. I don’t say I understand it all, but I do say it helps my poor little feet.

5. Want sky-high heels? Get platforms. The platform lessens the arch that your foot has to sustain, making those really high heels much more bearable.

6. Want low heels? For fashion’s sake, choose a tapered heel. A thick block heel will look stumpy. And in a low heel, a smaller heel will still be comfortable, even a kitten heel.

Any advice or shoe suggestions for Minderelly? I hope she finds a great pair of comfy yet classy shoes! Good luck in your new job, Minderelly!

9 thoughts on “Comfort Heels

  1. Yay, thanks! I think I am going to try on the Cole Haan, Rockport and now Sofft. I’ve always liked Sofft, but being from Seattle – aka Nordstromland- I’m not sure where else I can get them. This is a big help though. I’ll take pics of the shoes I get and send them in for your approval. Well, I’ll have already purchased them so try to like them, k? Thanks for the post!

    1. Try Dillards and Macy’s. There’s also a store locator on the Sofft website if you can’t find any there. Good luck in your hunt! If you’re pleased, that’s all that matters. 🙂

  2. Well darn. If you’re taking requests I’d like a post on finding a cute age appropriate yet sexy dress for the full figured and vertically challenged. K thnx 🙂

  3. I can’t believe I’m admitting this on the Internet…. But have you seen the YOU by Crocs brand heels? I hear they are fantastically comfortable and man some of them are so cute! Makes me want to buy some crocs for the first time in my life….

    There I said it. 😛

    1. Holy cow…Crocs is doing normal looking shoes. I have mixed feelings about this. I like to be open-minded about shoes, but dayum…Crocs? I’ve been anti-Croc for so long! But the price is right and the styles are cute. I feel my prejudices breaking down…

      Except if they have holes for Jibbits. That’s a dealbreaker.

  4. I have a pair of naturalizer T-strap pumps that I got a TJ Maxx a few years ago and I LOVE THEM! They are the best pair of work heels ever, and cute to boot! The T-strap and trim are in a textured “ostrich skin” and the body is in black leather with a 2-2 1/2 inch heel. I will cry sad, salty tears the day I have to retire these shoes.

Leave a Reply

