How to Wear a Headband (Without Looking Like Alice in Wonderland)

That’s one adorable little fictional girl.  But what if you’re over the age of 12, and would like to keep your hair out of your face?  Myself, I often will use sunglasses as a headband, and wear them on my hair much of the day.  But, SassySmart asked if it was possible to wear a headband if you’re over 30.  I will say DEFINITELY YES.

You can’t do this:

Don’t even try the hippie headband around the forehead look.  You can’t pull it off, unless you’re an actual dyed-in-the-wool hippie type.   Which would make it unlikely that you’d be reading this blog anyway.  😉

 

You can do THIS:

I think the trick to not look like a little girl is to treat your headbands like jewelry.  There should be something special about them.  There should be eye-catching designs, colors, and styles.

Also, keep it soft.  I’m loving the triple-strand headband with soft, wavy hair in a messy chignon.

Don’t slick your hair back in a severe ‘do with a headband.  Wisps and baby hairs and curly bits are all good.

You can also take a big silk scarf and wrap it around your head in a vintage 70’s style.  I would love a vintage Vera Bradley scarf folded wide running through thick hair.

Here are some of my favorite headbands with versatile style.

Pop Art Circles Headband in Turquoise

Red Fall Leaf Headband

Urban Outfitters Jelly Headwrap

Lipsy Floral Garland-Style Hair Band

Dual Faceted Bead Headband

Another technique is to make your own headband with a braid.  I actually do a reverse french braid to hold my hair out of my face on casual days.

Hopefully this gives you a few ideas!

5 thoughts on “How to Wear a Headband (Without Looking Like Alice in Wonderland)

  1. I think I could do a couple of these. Might take practice to get the waves and style right but I could certainly try! It just freaks me out a bit that I will come off looking like one of those women that is holding on HARD to her youth. I AM, I just don’t want to look like it.

    1. “that I will come off looking like one of those women that is holding on HARD to her youth. I AM, I just don’t want to look like it.”

      WORD.

      1. I think what I’ve discovered–because I saw a ton of pictures of people like Sandra Bullock and Salma Hayek and Drew Barrymore wearing headbands well–is that unlike college girls, you can just use a headband INSTEAD of a hairstyle. You have to use it as part of a hairstyle. It’s no longer the easy solution to whatever your hair is doing that day.

Leave a Reply

