Music Monday: It’s Not All Sweetness

A couple of out-there music suggestions for this Monday. Because sometimes everybody wants some chick (or a dude) screaming in his or her ear. And drums. And maybe occasionally some screamed profanity.

Paramore
Crushcrushcrush

I’ll ease you into it slowly with an artist you’re probably familiar with: Paramore. Hayley Williams has pretty colored hair. She’s an adorable girl. She has a great voice. Worth listening to.

Anberlin
Paper Thin Hymn

This song kills me, every time. It is passion and sadness and questioning. I am always nervous embedding versions that aren’t live, because they so often get yanked, but I couldn’t do the acoustic. The swell at the beginning of the song is so amazing.

Flyleaf
I’m So Sick

I am so surprise this little girl has such a big voice. Also that she hasn’t blown it out with all the screaming. The discontent and ennui in this song are powerful. (Sorry, no matter what version I try, I can’t get this video or the next to embed. But go to YouTube. Just this once.)

Hollywood Undead
California

I can’t help it. I feel almost guilty listening to these poseurs, because they can literally be offensive. They wear masks. They swear a lot. They’re misogynists. Yet, they make me giggle. Huh. They seem to not take themselves too seriously, and some of their songs have humorous lyrics and ideas.

What are you listening to this Monday?

Leave a Reply

