Music Monday is BACK! We’re FOLKED!

After too long of a departure over the holidays, in where I missed out on the opportunity to tell you about my favorite Christmas music (I guess that will be December 2011’s Music Monday. [Hint: Pink Martini!]), it’s time for the first Music Monday of the new year!  And I decided to pay homage to some indie/folk bands.  Today I was scrolling through my iPod and I didn’t know what to listen to.  I feel like everything is stale; that I’ve listened to everything a million times.  My finger landed on Mumford & Sons, and I knew that was the ticket.  I know Heyyybrother (aka Danielle) loves Mumford & Sons, and I wanted to say I GET IT. Finally.

Mumford & Sons

The Cave

I wanted to play this song ten times today. I love the way the music rises and falls, and the pace increases as the chorus. Just amazing.

Arcade Fire

My Body is a Cage

This is certainly a rip-your-heart-out song. The slow, melancholy style of this song has made me cry more than once. The lyrics, “My body is a cage…but my mind holds the key” give me goosebumps.

Iron & Wine

Naked as We Came

YES, I discovered Iron & Wine through the Twilight soundtrack. Whatever you might think about the Twilight series of movies, they have some great music. I resisted putting the song Flightless Bird, American Mouth here and went with another amazing song instead, but I’ll admit that every time I hear that song, it transports me to a time in my life filled with a lot of emotion. It’s evocative.

Like these? Any other Folk bands on your playlist?

9 thoughts on “Music Monday is BACK! We’re FOLKED!

  1. Shout out! Holla!

    First and foremost, love me some Mumford. If they ever make it to your neck of the woods, you MUST go see them. Must. It’s a requirement. It sounds corny, but seeing them live makes me happy to be alive. There’s so much joy and love and energy poured into every minute of their performance.

    I’m not going to bombard you with embedded youtube videos. I hope this works… Also, classifying music into one bucket can be a challenge for me, and I often find the line between folk and indie rock to be a little blurry. So you might be able to argue that some of this music isn’t “folk” per se, but good music is good music is good music.

    I’m sure you’ve heard of them by now, but I’d be remiss not to mention The Civil Wars. I was introduced to them by their song “Poison & Wine”, which still gives me chills. They have a new album coming out shortly (just over a month away, I think), and the first track, “Barton Hollow” is already turning into a favorite.

    Next up: James Vincent McMorrow. I just found him recently and I can’t stop listening. Something about his voice is heartbreaking, but just the right amount of heartbreaking.

    Fink! His name is fun to say. I found him about two years ago. I can’t decide if “This Is The Thing” or “If Only” is my favorite song of his, but this live version I found of the former is excellent.

    Ryan Adams “Come Pick Me Up” is an oldie but a goodie. “I wish you would come pick me up, take me out, fuck me up, steal my records, screw all my friends” — an emotional rollercoaster all in one [harmonica’ed!] song.

    Finally… Freelance Whales “Generator ^ First Floor”. It’s short, and I won’t pretend I even really know what the hell it is they’re singing about exactly, but I just love something about this song.

    And I’m spent. Apologies for turning your comments section into my own little blog, but I think we should all be used to my habit of doing that by now…

  2. SHUT UP.
    I just sent Bekah a CD of James Vincent McMorrow’s and wrote on it, “My new favorite…” NO LIE. Danielle, I love you.

    Also, Fink’s “This Is The Thing” is on about 4 of my playlists. It was also used in a key scene on Friday Night Lights in season 3. I love that song SO FREAKING MUCH.

    Sorry for screaming.

  3. well freaking danielle stole what i was gonna put, james
    vincent mcmarrow but whatever!!! and i’ll fight you to make out
    with a m&s member in the back of a pt loser, danielle.
    let’s do this. ok i kid. not about the pt loser. i dont know what’s
    folk and whats not anymore but ive been listening to the tallest
    man on earth a lot this week so i’ll share that.

    1. You leave the PT Cruizer out of this! You haven’t been properly folk’d until you’ve heard Mumford’s notes dance around the cavernous inside of the BRUISER. It was made for folking. But, whatever. Haters gon’ hate.

      P.S. I approve of your contribution!!

  4. How did I miss this last night? My co-worker and I just found JVM a couple of weeks ago. We have a hard time co-habitating in our office music-wise, since I refuse to listen to country, and she can’t abide … anything good. Somehow, we came together with JVM when listening to a Amos Lee pandora channel. Get you some Alexi Murdoch as well. Oh, his voice.

Leave a Reply

