New Year’s Resolutions: Travel!

This is the last resolution I’ll be tackling, and my personal favorite.  In the new year, people want to travel more!  I think traveling is the ultimate education.  I love to travel, and I’ve been fortunate enough to go many wonderful places.  But for the traveler, there’s always another destination.  Here are the places I think I would love to go in 2011.

Savannah, Georgia


There’s something so appealing about the dilapidated beauty of the Old South.  Savannah seems to be the epitome of Southern gentility.  It looks like it would be a step back in time, to a more gracious era, with southern belles and gentlemen.  I keep picturing myself in a very Gone With the Wind style hoop skirt in Savannah.  But isn’t that what traveling is all about?  Removing yourself from the ordinary world and living a bit of a fantasy for a while?

The history of Savannah appeals to me.  The old architecture, the drama of the stories, the ghosts of the past make me want to visit Savannah.  I’ll pack my fan to prevent the vapors.

Quebec City, Quebec, Canada


For a winter getaway, I can think of nowhere I’d rather go.  Like a little piece of France in the frozen north, Quebec stands out as a romantic old city with an international flair.  Apparently the walled city has wonderful restaurants and shopping, so you can keep warm on a winter day.  I think it’s the kind of place I’d want to go to walk through the old city in a light snow, looking into windows glowing with light in the twilight.

I really want to go to the Carnaval de Quebec.   With snow sculptures, sled dog races, entertainment and an ice palace, this seems like the ultimate place to drive away the winter blues and just to celebrate the beauty and culture of the Quebec area.

Edinburgh, Scotland

Can you believe that I lived in England for three years and never made it to Scotland?  I went to Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Wales, but never got far enough north.  It definitely makes my life list, because I feel like it’s a travel wish unfulfilled.  Edinburgh, a city on a hill with an ancient fortress, would be my desired destination.  I own a mystery novel by Elizabeth Peters entitled Legend in Green Velvet that’s set in Edinburgh.  This book caught my attention with all its historical details and the descriptions of historical Edinburgh.

Also, after wee drop of Scotch, who wouldn’t want to flirt with a man in a skirt?

Today I booked a flight to Denver to visit my friend The Kitchenette.    Then sometime in the spring or summer I’m off for my first trip to New York City!  Also, my parents are discussing maybe 2011 should be the year of the tropical Christmas, so we’ll see how that pans out.  So those are my travel plans for 2011.  Where are you going this year?  Do you have a dream vacation destination?

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions: Travel!

  1. This is my goal for the year every single year. My mother doesn’t get it, but I always have itchy feet; I can’t stay at home for too long!
    These sound exciting! I’m going to Australia to visit @Jayde17 in May, and then I’m hoping to visit Scotland next winter (I don’t know why, but I have this strong need to visit Europe in the winter).

    If I might make a couple suggestions? (I don’t know where you’ve been, so this might be repetitive) Vancouver and Whistler are beautiful, and if you ever have the chance to get up there, take it. By far my favourite part of Canada, and I’d take it over Quebec City any day.
    Also, I would highly recommend Greece (if you haven’t already been). The Greek islands are the only places I’ve ever visited that are exactly how they look in pictures and on postcards. I’ve been to a lot of gorgeous places, but I’m not sure that any of them can top Greece.

    Just my two cents 🙂 Maybe for 2012!

  2. Forget tropical Christmas! EDINBURGH CHRISTMAS! That city feels pretty magical at that time of year. They have a Christmas market where you can drink mulled wine and mead in the streets while it snows. And then you can stay through Hogmanay and ring in 2012 making out with a strange foreign man. Win-win!

    1. I would LOVE to do that. But probably not with my parents. As my father said when my mother suggested such a thing, “But the point of the vacation is that it’s WARM.” But I would totally be in!

Leave a Reply

