New Year’s Resolutions: Get Organized!

Next up in the New Year’s Resolutions is getting organized. I will refrain from posting pictures of my scariest home areas to show you that I can relate to people who feel the need to organize. However, since I moved from a smaller apartment to a larger one, I have been able to be more organized. I felt crowded in and surrounded by stuff. Having a little more room to spread out and a few more closets to put things in has helped me be more organized.

As clichéd as it may seem, “a place for everything and everything in its place” remains true. So maybe you need more places! A good place to start for inexpensive storage of every kind is IKEA. I love all things IKEA. Whatever storage you need, IKEA has it. I feel like I’m swamped with paperwork sometimes, so I bought some Kassett document boxes to help me organize my papers. They come in many different sizes; I have large ones where I put spare blankets in the living room.

Using wall space can be a good way to clear up counter space. For a tiny little kitchen like mine, I would love to have this Zero Gravity Spice Rack. It would clear space in my cupboards and on my counters. Airtight containers can be stored right side up or upside down.

I have a bit of a huge handbag addiction. The addiction isn’t huge, the handbags are. And potential for clutter is huge, as well. I have a bad habit of taking my debit card out of my card organizer, then dropping it back into the handbag when I’m done using it, then I’m never able to find it again. I got a handy gift from my mom a while back that I need to use more often: a purse organizer. You can put all your stuff in the pockets of this organizer, then just lift it out and transfer it to any purse you own. I’m liking the Kiwi Purse Organizer available at BagnBasket.

These are just a couple of organizing suggestions. I own a good book entitled Organizing Plain and Simple by Donna Smallin; it has suggestions for organizing everything from your closet to your schedule to your travel and finances. I like that while the author is rather gung-ho on organizing, she also offers several different ways to organize, so you don’t have to go all the way Type A to get organized. Another good place to go to get ideas for organization is the blog Unclutterer. They are passionate about organization over there. They also have some great DIY ideas, like making your own silverware drawer.

Organizing isn’t something you do once, but something you continue to do again and again. But there is a sense of satisfaction and relief when you know where to find anything in your home.

Anyone have any sure-fire organizational ideas? Leave them in the comments!

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions: Get Organized!

  1. “Organizing isn’t something you do once, but something you continue to do again and again. But there is a sense of satisfaction and relief when you know where to find anything in your home.”

    omg…nail. on. head.

    this is a major issue in my life too. it really freaks me out sometimes at how much stuff is in my house.

    i love ikea too and mainly buy bookshelves from there. most of the walls in my rental are wood paneled (ewww) so the bookcases do double duty by covering the ski lodge look and providing much needed storage space. i also love to buy cheap metal hooks to hang on the sides of the bookcases for jackets, bags, etc. it may look weird but it helps to clear some clutter.

Leave a Reply

