Putting on My Smarty Cap

Today I went to the art museum. I go there a lot, relatively. Like, compared to the average person. I hit up the museum once a month or so. At one point I was mayor of the museum on Foursquare, and I was insanely happy. I love museums. I love their stillness, their peacefulness. I love the fact that I can stare at a painting for as long as I want, and nobody cares. I can commit each brush stroke to memory, or fall into the colors.

The museum has a wonderful exhibit going on right now called Sensory Crossovers: Synesthesia in American Art. Synesthesia refers to sensory fusions or crossovers. For instance, there are those who can “see” sounds, and “hear” colors. The artists depict music, storms, math, and foghorns. The exhibit is interactive; dial a phone number, enter the code by the painting, and it plays the music or sound that the painting is related to.

lone figure and tree in stormy sunset by e.e. cummings

This was my second time at this exhibit. Each time, it blew me away. But the first time, I got a real shock–one of the beautiful abstracts was by e.e. cummings, the poet who wrote the poem my blog title comes from. He’s been a favorite of mine for many years, and I never knew he painted.

Noise Number 1 by e.e. cummings

It impresses me when someone who is so talented hones another skill. The restless who never stop growing and learning always are my heroes. Cummings pushed the boundaries of form in poetry, which made him special. And then he took all the leftovers that he didn’t put into his poetry, I like to imagine, and put them into his paintings.

dive for dreams by e.e. cummings

dive for dreams
or a slogan may topple you
(trees are their roots
and wind is wind)
trust your heart
if the seas catch fire
(and live by love
though the stars walk backward)
honour the past
but welcome the future
(and dance your death
away at the wedding)
never mind a world
with its villains or heroes
(for god likes girls
and tomorrow and the earth)

Fourth Dimensional Abstraction by e.e. cummings

2 thoughts on “Putting on My Smarty Cap

  1. I wish I could see this exhibit. Seeing as I have synesthesia/am a synesthisic(?) anyhoodle, numbers and months for me have colors and specific layouts/designs.

  2. I DID NOT KNOW HE PAINTED! Yes, this reduced me to shouty capitals.

    I generally spend the whole of Autumn quoting cummings…1(a… (a leaf falls on loneliness)

    Astounding. He creates art with a brushstroke, as well as with words. WHO KNEW? Thank you for teaching me of this.

Leave a Reply

