Music Monday: Guilty Pleasures (and Updates!)

I’m shamed.

I have a handful of songs that are stand-alones.  I don’t own the whole album, in other words.  And basically, I don’t own the whole album because I’m kind of embarrassed over the songs to begin with.  But they’re just so darn catchy!

California Gurls by Katy Perry

This song will forever say summer 2010 to me. It was the perfect song for hot summer days, visits to California, and being free from work.

Evacuate the Dancefloor by Cascada

Okay, this is an awesome dance song. Ignore the German chatter at the beginning, because the unplugged version is actually kind of amazing.

Tik Tok by Ke$ha

I’m really ashamed now, after seeing this video. It’s a catchy tune, but this highlights everything that is cringe-worthy about Ke$ha–her hair looks like a rat’s nest, she has no breath control, her butt cheeks are showing, and she looks drunk. But I love a hot mess.

UPDATES!
LiLi sent me these to get through Monday.

I love her.

Got a pedicure tonight with my brand-new, straight-outta-the-box MAC polish, Sly as a Fox. First of all, the dude who did my toes thinned the polish without asking. SACRILEGE! Second, the verdict is…uncertain. I was hoping for it to be a little more red and a little less brown. I didn’t love it in the nail salon. However, in less light, I like it a little more. We’ll see over the course of a few days.

Guilty pleasures? Updates? Share them (I almost typed “shame them”) in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Music Monday: Guilty Pleasures (and Updates!)

  1. *hides face*
    I may or may not have a certain song about partying in the USA on my ipod. And I may or may not sing along every single time it comes on.
    And I watch Desperate Housewives. Every week.

    These are my confessions.
    (Yes, I totally just sang it like I was Usher)

  2. As for my guilty pleasure songs…erm…i can’t say no to a goo rap/hip hop song. even the old ones. currently i can’t stop listening to flo rida’s “low” and lil wayne’s “get low”. both low songs. both make me turn the radio down low when i come to a stop and the car next to me has their windows down. yeah. i am that person.

  3. I AM NOT ASHAMED THAT I OWN EVERYTHING BARRY MANILOW EVER PUT OUT.

    Nope. I scream that shiz from the rooftops.
    “Her name was Lola…she was a showgirl…”

    Also…I will fight anyone who tries to tell me The Carpenters are not the most amazing brother/sister duo of all time. Karen’s voice is perfection. It’s like butter. OK, so maybe a food reference isn’t appropriate here…her voice is VELVET.

    p.s. I bought Sly As A Fox in Vegas and have yet to use it–and now you’ve made me apprehensive. Dude!

Leave a Reply

