Playing with Fire

I hate cheap soy candles.

I swore off soy candles a while back, after having some issues with the wax sputtering and the smokiness of some cut-rate soy candles.

Imagine my surprise when I found out that my current favorite candle is soy-based. It burns beautifully, with no issues. The scent is gorgeous. I bought two the last time I was at Anthropologie. One for myself, and one for my BFF. I gave her a choice between the Volcano scent, described as “tropical fruits, sugared oranges, lemons and limes, redolent with lightly exotic mountain greens,” and Peeled Naval (sic) Orange, which, of course, smells like freshly peeled orange. And I really wanted the Volcano. So, of course, that’s the one the BFF picked. But I’ve found that the orange is delicious. I burned it during my massage the other day, and it was wonderful.  Not overpowering, but with a strong enough scent to notice.

You can buy the Capri Blue candle tin at Anthropologie.

3 thoughts on “Playing with Fire

  1. okay. dumb question alert. srsly. be prepared.

    what is anthropologie? is it clothes and stuff? i keep hearing about it but am too lazy to employ that googling thing everyone is so fond of. it sounds fancy though. like too fancy for me.

    1. There’s no such thing as a dumb question! (Do I sound high school teacher-y there?) Anthropologie is clothes, jewelry, and housewares. They kind of specialize in global goods (without the awful patchouli and incense aura of so many “global market” stores). Gorgeous stuff. Yes, a little expensive for the teacher budget, but I haunt the sale section. Plus the housewares are adorable. And it’s not too fancy for you, trust me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

