MISSING!

Sometimes, on a Sunday, I look around and get motivated to do stuff.  Weird, I know.  One of the things I’ve been thinking about for a while is putting up my Bjorn Wiinblad plaques.  They were a gift from my grandmother when she downsized to move into her nursing home.  A set of twelve black and white plaques, they depict the meeting and romance of two people over the course of a year, one scene per month.

First, I went searching for the hooks I needed to hang them on.  Then the ribbon to hang them with.  Then I put up the hooks.  I had seen the box with the plaques in it recently in the kitchen, so I went hunting for it.  When I opened it up, however, it was filled with vintage Royal Copenhagen Christmas plates!  NOT what I was looking for.

So, my plaques are officially missing, and I have NO idea where they might be.  You’d think I’d be able to find these things, as I’ve pretty much unpacked everything.  I have to go through my storage bins again.  My fear is that I’m going to find a stack of broken ceramics when I do find them.  I already had an incident where I broke several of them when I dropped another piece of Danish art, a cast-iron candelabra, in the box where I was storing the plaques.  I bought replacements off of Ebay, and they were not in perfect condition, like mine were.  I’m also missing my Bjorn Wiinblad print, depicting a house in winter.  So frustrating.

Alternate universe, if I had lots of money, I’d be putting up a collection of surreal Fornasetti plates. Yes, it’s not traditional Danish, which tends to be a motif for me, but I love them so much.

 

One thought on “MISSING!

Leave a Reply

