Design Dilemma

This summer I had a mini-addiction to Colin and Justin’s Home Heist on BBC America.  When I had nothing to get up for in the morning, Home Heist pulled me up and out of my reverie and helped  me keep a schedule.  The thing I loved the best about that show was their bold use of wallpaper.  I want bold wallpaper! I would think, as I drank my cup of morning coffee.  But I live in an apartment.  There are no bold wallpapers in an apartment.  I moved from my tiny one-bedroom apartment to a much larger two-bedroom townhouse, still yearning for a bold wallpaper.

Then I discovered EasyChange wallpaper from Sherwin-Williams.  It’s perfect for renters, because it isn’t permanent.  You can remove it without damaging the walls.  So I’ve spent many hours browsing and perusing, and have decided on a couple of designs that I really like.  I want to paper the wall between the kitchen and the dining room, which has a pass-through.  I’m liking black and white papers, like these:  Wallpaper 1, Wallpaper 2, Wallpaper 3.

Curtains! With bonus view of one of my chairs.

Here’s my dilemma.  I have a large combined living and dining room area.  The colors are white, black, grey, and orange.  I reupholstered my dining room chairs a couple of years ago in a black and white fabric that has a rather bold pattern.  Then later I made my own curtains for the living room in a fabric with another bold pattern.  If I add a wallpaper, will it be too  much bold pattern?  Will it be overwhelming?

Right now I have blank walls and a desire to do something to them.  I’m sick of my old artwork, and I want a living/dining area that’s not bland.  I’m poised and ready to move on this.

Any opinions are much appreciated!  Pick a wallpaper!

3 thoughts on “Design Dilemma

  1. I looove the idea of a bold wallpaper. Love it.
    But (and there has to be a ‘but,’ right?) I think that with the bold pattern on the curtains and dining room chairs, it will be too much to have one on the walls as well.

    If it were me, I think I would go with something like wallpaper #2, which still has a cool pattern but is less in-your-face than the other choices. Alternatively, I’ve seen a bold pattern used on just one wall, complemented by a simple and complementary paint colour on the other walls. If you were to do that, you could go with something a bit crazier.

    Just my opinion 🙂
    Hope it helps!

  2. Wallpaper #2 definitely. The bold, yet understated design of it will mesh very well with the two already bold patterns that you have going on in the curtains and chairs.

    It’s still neutral enough to blend as well, if you decide to add more color. The gray tones in it reflect the gray in the curtains, as well as the slight floral design in both.

    I think the other two choices are great, but just a little too busy to add in with the other patterns.

    What about doing the accent wall in a solid color, then adding a few eye popping pieces of art?

Leave a Reply

