Modern Slipper Chairs

I’m a big fan of HGTV and the DIY network. I love home decorating. There are some fascinating renovation shows on the air, but let’s be honest: for most of us, we can’t do a whole room or a whole house in one go. It’s more of an organic process; we take one or two items at a time, trade out and trade up, and do things bit by bit. If you can keep the vision of what you want to achieve and keep your eyes open for the right pieces, your can design your perfect room. Plus, you’re never truly “done”, which for me is a good thing. A perfect house with nothing to do is boring!

My bedroom is my next project. Right now, I want a slipper chair. A slipper chair is a low, armless upholstered chair. It is meant for things like putting on shoes in the morning. There are a lot of slipper chairs with an embellished or Victorian look, which doesn’t suit my decor. I’m a fan of a more mid-century modern style. I would love a chair in a bright color or pattern, too–this is an accent chair, and can be slightly less practical than your sofa, for instance.

Modern Slipper Chairs

Surprisingly, Target has a LOT of interesting slipper chairs for reasonable prices. I think there’s a wide variety, whatever your decor.

Does anyone have a slipper chair? What do you think of it? If not, would you have one in your house? Are you looking for a special piece for your home right now?

2 thoughts on “Modern Slipper Chairs

  1. I love the one with the woodland design in blue. I just love prints. I try and find a way to incorporate a eye catching print in a confined area. Curtains in that print would be too much, but a slipper chair is just right. I love it!

    If my room didn’t have an elliptical machine and a harp, I would have a slipper chair. My room has become storage for all the things I don’t have space for in the rest of the house.

Leave a Reply

