Bed Karma

My current dilemma reminds me of a scene from that classic family show, Sex and the City:

Miranda: I’m trying to change my bed karma. I figure if I can make my bed a place I really want to be, others will feel the same.
Carrie: Aah, the Field of Dreams.
Miranda: Exactly. If you build it, he will come.

As much as I’d like that kind of bed karma (ahem), I actually have another bed karma issue: I have been a horrible insomniac lately. I haven’t slept nearly enough in recent months. I have actually looked at my bed, totally thrashed, and said “this is where all the pain takes place.” I get very stressed when I can’t sleep, and have had nights where I’ve lain in bed fully awake, crying from stress and exhaustion.

So it’s time to get some new mojo. Which might mean new sheets and comforters and a new headboard! I want to have a soft upholstered headboard. Maybe even a wrap-around headboard. that feels like I’m cocooned. I’m still kind of exploring my options, but at first glance, I like these headboards:

Headboards

Ritz Empire Headboard, $598
Murdoch Caribbean Velvet Espresso Finish Queen-size Headboard |…, $250
Nailhead Upholstered Headboard | west elm, $349
Skyline Low Arc Lilac Velvet Tufted Headboards – Bed Bath & Beyond, $180
Pier 1 Imports – Hayworth Upholstered Headboards, $250

Or I might just go crazy and try to make my own. The Better Homes & Gardens site has a bunch of headboard projects. Even though it’s not upholstered, I kind of love the headboard made from vintage drawers.

Do you have a headboard? Better yet, has anyone made their own?

3 thoughts on “Bed Karma

  1. I’ve helped my mom upholster a headboard. It really takes two to do it right. Lot’s of good fabric, a good staple gun, and some serious determination. I don’t know that I would do it again. I always see these beautiful padded headboards, and think. “I’ll buy it next time.”

    The good part is, if you do it yourself, you can choose any fabric you want. It’s also so much less expensive than buying one ready made.

Leave a Reply

